here's more..
News, Politics

Egypt latest news: Troops fire shots, fighter planes soar over protesters – This Just In – CNN.com Blogs

 

 

– [Update 4:40 p.m. Cairo, 9:40 a.m. ET] Egyptian troops fired warning shots into the air in Cairo’s Tahrir Square as demonstrators defied a curfew order Sunday evening.

– [Update 4:30 p.m. Cairo, 9:30 a.m. ET] U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton appeared on CNN’s State of the Union. Clinton told CNN’s Candy Crowley that the U.S. is neither on Mubarak’s side or the protesters’ side but that the U.S. is on the side of the Egyptian people. Clinton told NBC’s “Meet the Press” Sunday that the U.S. does not have any reports of American citizens killed or injured in the anti-government protests in Egypt. Clinton said the U.S. has no plans to cut off aid to Egypt Sunday on ABC’s “The Week.”

– [Update 4 p.m. Cairo, 9 a.m. ET] Fighter planes flew low over the crowds in Cairo’s Tahrir Square on Sunday, 10 minutes before the state-imposed curfew. The planes flew low enough that CNN personnel on the ground could see inside the cockpit. Some in the crowd began holding prayers despite the planes.

– [Update 3:53 p.m. Cairo, 8:53 a.m. ET] Egyptian opposition leader

via Egypt latest news: Troops fire shots, fighter planes soar over protesters – This Just In – CNN.com Blogs 

 

About these ads

About Evan Trowbridge

Political professional by trade | Lawyer of sorts

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Twitter Updates

  • RT @ReutersOpinion: The sudden warming of U.S. relations with Cuba may not have been that sudden. Talks have been going on for years: http:… 1 hour ago
  • Speaking of repression, I'm sure #Rubio was supportive of the ouster of #Mubarak... Oh, no? Oops... 2 hours ago
  • @BklynMiddleton @SabrinaSiddiqui Bush wouldn't negotiate, so that makes him a better negotiator. Half-kidding, but wishing entirely kidding. 2 hours ago
  • Also, if you're citing a bad history w Cuba, remember, we've normalized relations w nations we've actually gone to catastrophic wars w. 2 hours ago
  • Some are too quick to forget our own misdeeds and those of our "allies" in the name of a partisan assault. 2 hours ago
  • How many corrupt and repressive regimes have, and do, we as the United States befriend and #Cuba is causing you outrage? 2 hours ago
  • @BklynMiddleton There's a handful of moments in my life that forever changed me, selective notifications has proved to be one of the biggest 4 hours ago
  • RT @sgallman: In addition to to the prisoner swap, US and Cuba will also open embassies, a senior administration official tells @eliselabot4 hours ago
  • @BklynMiddleton Turning off notifications from those who you don't follow is incredibly liberating. And snobby... 4 hours ago
  • RT @BklynMiddleton: Reports: #ISIS militant Abu Anas Al-Libi reportedly executes at least 150 women for refusing to marry jihadists in Anba… 5 hours ago
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28,615 other followers

%d bloggers like this: